Return to the Homepage
Visit the Shop
Donate to the Orchestra
Listen to Audio Clips
Meet the Conductor
About Antonio Vivaldi
Upcoming Events
Having a Wedding?
Privacy Statement
Shop - Five Character Pieces Return to Shop


Five Character Pieces
Solo Viola and Piano

Louise Lincoln Kerr

Edited by

Carolyn Waters Broe
Miriam Yutzy

$ 9.95

Louise Lincoln Kerr (1892 - 1977)

Louise Lincoln Kerr, American composer, violist and patroness of the arts, was born April 24th, 1892 in Cleveland, Ohio, and died December 10th of 1977 in Cottonwood, AZ at her ranch. She was the daughter of John C. Lincoln, who was an engineer and real estate tycoon. Her mother, Myrtie, taught her to play the piano at age six, violin at seven, and later learned to play viola. She studied violin in Cleveland with Sol Marcosson, concertmaster and soloist with the early Cleveland Symphony Orchestra. She attended Barnard College in New York in 1910 where she studied music composition with two prominent Columbia University professors: Cornelius Rubnor and Daniel Gregory Mason. She left New York around 1913 in order to join the early Cleveland Symphony Orchestra under the direction of her teacher the famous Dutch violinist Christian Timmner. She was one of the first two women to join that orchestra.

Kerr returned to New York to start her family and eventually came west to Arizona for the health of one of her daughters. There she helped to found the Phoenix Symphony Orchestra, the Phoenix Chamber Music Society, the Arizona Cello Society, and the Phoenix chapter of the Monday Morning Musical. Kerr composed over one hundred works including: symphonic tone poems, works for chamber orchestra, a violin concerto, numerous piano pieces, vocal pieces, string quartets, piano quartets and quintets, ballets and incidental music, and numerous duos for piano and other instruments. The Phoenix Symphony as well as many other symphonies performed her tone poem, "Enchanted Mesa" written in 1948. Kerr's symphonic work "Arizona Profiles" was commissioned for the dedication ceremonies for the Scottsdale Center for the arts in 1968. Her Ballet, "Tableau Vivant," was performed for the Dedication of the Waddell Sculptures entitled "Dance" at Phoenix Symphony Hall in 1974. Louise Lincoln Kerr received an honorary Doctorate from ASU in 1977. She won several awards in composition during her life.

Louise Kerr donated her studio and manuscripts to Arizona State University in Tempe. They are housed in the archives in Haydn Library. The five piano and viola works included in this edition are the first works by Kerr ever to be published. She is one of the finest Southwest composers in the United States. Many of her works were inspired by Impressionism. The Five Character Pieces for Viola and Piano were not originally grouped together, but written as separate pieces. These viola solos are perfect for the solo artist as well as advanced students. The "Habanera," "Las Fatigas Del Querer," and "Berceuse" were all inspired by Spanish and French Impressionists. The "Lament" is more German in harmonic language. The "Toccata" is a brilliant through composed fantasy. Each one is a gem that pleases both audiences and musicians alike.



Nominations  ||  Visit The Shop  ||  Donate to The Orchestra  ||  Listen to Audio Clips  ||  Meet The Conductor

About Antonio Vivaldi  ||  Upcoming Events  ||  Having a Wedding?  ||  Privacy Statement  ||  Sponsor Links


We accept Visa, Mastercard and American Express through PayPal

Copyright © 2001-2012 Four Seasons Orchestra

4972 E. Paradise Lane
Scottsdale, Arizona 85254
(602) 923-0300

Facebook  YouTube